On the Planning board, you can schedule and reschedule work order jobs. You can also split and merge jobs, if required.
Setup of the Planning board is completed in Dynaway Mobile in D365FO.
The Planning board is meant for manual planning of work order jobs for which no additional tools or other capacity reservations are required to complete the job. Worker capacity is shown on the Planning board, next to the worker name.
Color codes are also used to show available capacity for a worker. Colors are shown at the bottom of a date field in the calendar area, as a horizontal line. Refer to the table below for more details.
If you're planning jobs that involve several workers, specific groups of workers, and tools, or if jobs are to be scheduled across several dates, refer to the Split work order jobs and Auto-split work order card or work order jobs sections.If you schedule work for a worker, you can exceed number of work hours, compared to the calendar setup for the worker. If you exceed number of work hours for a worker, the day is marked with an orange line on the Planning board, and a note regarding "no available hours" is shown on the work order. Example: Workers have been asked to work on a Saturday or Sunday, which is not part of their standard work schedule.
A planner can easily schedule and reschedule work orders to workers on the Planning board.
On the Mobile Client, the worker gets an overview of the jobs scheduled to him or her in the list "Work scheduled to me", which is available in the Work orders module. Read more about the Work orders module in the document "Mobile Client Training Material for Dynaway Mobile - Assets and Work orders".
When you've scheduled a work order or work order job in the calendar, there are several ways you can view job details or reschedule, if required.
Example: Two work orders have been scheduled for a worker, and an orange line is shown on the work day, indicating that the worker is overbooked, compared to his or her work time schedule.
In the work order list section on the right side of the screen, you can view details of work orders and work order jobs:
In the calendar area, you can see details of scheduled work orders and work order jobs, and you have more options for job scheduling.
If you've made a scheduling proposal but have not yet saved the changes, and you leave the Planning board module to continue work in another module on the Mobile Client, the changes are saved in cache and will be shown when you return to the Planning board module. The unsaved schedule proposal will only be available on the current device, meaning the scheduling proposal will not be shown if you log in on another browser, or another mobile device or computer.
The company selected in Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations provides the basis for the dates and times of work order job schedules. For example, scheduling a work order job to 7am means 7am in the time zone of the selected company. All dates and times are stored in UTC format in Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations , meaning if you open the Planning board in Denmark, Danish local time is displayed, and if you open it in the United States, US local time is displayed.
If absence registrations have been made for a worker in the Time and attendance module in Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations, you see them as registrations in gray color with the text "Absence" on the Planning board, including number of hours registered.
During scheduling, you can split a work order job schedule on the Planning board. This means one work order job schedule is split in two.
Example 1: The split functionality may be useful if you have a large job with many planned work hours that you need to break down and allocate to different workers on different dates.
Example 2: You may have a job shown as one work order job that requires two workers to be completed.
If necessary, you can split a work order job several times, following the procedure above.
If required, you can merge work order jobs from the same work order after you've split them.
Example: You split a work order job in two work order jobs and scheduled them for two workers, but now, one worker has been allocated to other jobs. Therefore, you want to reschedule one work order job to the not-so-busy worker. When you drag-and-drop the split work order job to reschedule, a message is shown, informing you that you can merge the schedules (because they come from the same work order job). Select OK if you want to merge the jobs to become one work order job.
Apart from using the split work order functionality described in the previous chapter, the Planning board also has an auto-split function, meaning you can split a work order card or work order job into several work order cards or work order jobs. Hours are divided evenly according to available capacity for the worker.
Example: A work order job contains many work hours, for example 30 hours, and you want to schedule the job for the worker on several days and use all available capacity for that worker.
If the period shown on the Planning board does not have enough capacity for all hours, the remaining hours are shown on the last available date on the screen. In that case, either use the split work order jobs functionality to distribute the remaining work hours to the same or other workers. Or, you can continue to use the auto-split work order functionality and select a longer period to be shown on the screen. You must save your changes before you can change the period view on the screen.
If a worker has a work day from 8am to 4pm and already has a scheduled job from 10am to 11am, automatic scheduling is done from 11am onwards. If you want to make a schedule from 8am to 10am, that scheduling must be done manually by planning on exact time.
When you schedule work order jobs as described above, they are added to a worker's work day in the sequence they are scheduled. The first job begins when the worker starts the work day, according to his or her work calendar. Subsequent jobs are added sequentially to the work day. This means that the start time of a job is the next available time. An orange line is shown under the worker's name if the worker is overbooked, compared to the work calendar.
It is possible to schedule work order jobs in more detail on the Planning board, meaning you can change duration and scheduled start time on a work order job. This detailed planning can be done when you have first scheduled a work order job to a worker, as described in the Schedule work order jobs and Reschedule work order jobs or view job details chapters.
If you use planning on exact time functionality on the Planning board, be aware that if you change scheduled start time for a work order job, other jobs are not automatically updated if they overlap.
You can add virtual notes on the Planning board for specific workers on specific dates. A planning note is typically used by a planner to remember deviations on the current day for a worker, compared to the worker's standard work time schedule.
Example 1: A worker is busy a part of the day, participating in a department meeting.
Example 2: A worker calls in sick in the morning, and the planner creates a note to remember not to allocate any jobs to the worker on that day.
The Category field is only available if planning note categories are set up in the Dynaway mobile module.
In general, a planning note is used for worker-specific information that the planner must remember. If your company uses Time and Attendance functionality in Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations, planned absence registrations are automatically shown on the Planning board.
In Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations > Dynaway mobile > Common > Asset management > Planning notes, you can get an overview of all planning notes created for all workers shown on the Planning board.
When you use the Planning board, it provides flexibility in terms of planning. For example, you're able to overrule calendar setup if you've called workers to work on a Sunday, at a time when they are not normally at work.
When you schedule a job to a specific worker on the Planning board, you make a scheduling proposal, which is validated. You see a warning on the screen if scheduling conflicts occur, for example: